https://www.jvolcanica.org/ojs/index.php/volcanica/issue/feed Volcanica 2018-09-19T17:18:55+00:00 Jamie Farquharson jifarq89@googlemail.com Open Journal Systems <p><em>Volcanica</em>&nbsp;seeks to publish high-quality, rigorously peer reviewed research pertaining to volcanology and related disciplines, while eliminating submission fees and keeping content freely accessible.</p> https://www.jvolcanica.org/ojs/index.php/volcanica/article/view/13 Field evidence for the lateral emplacement of igneous dykes 2018-08-22T17:36:16+00:00 David Healy d.healy@abdn.ac.uk Roberto E Rizzo rerizzo@abdn.ac.uk Marcus Duffy m.duffy@abdn.ac.uk Natalie J C Farrell natalie.farrell@abdn.ac.uk Michael J Hole m.j.hole@abdn.ac.uk David Muirhead dmuirhead@abdn.ac.uk <p>Seismological and geodetic data from modern volcanic systems strongly suggest that magma is transported significant distance (tens of kilometres) in the subsurface away from central volcanic vents.&nbsp; Geological evidence for lateral emplacement preserved within exposed dykes includes aligned fabrics of vesicles and phenocrysts, striations on wall rocks and the anisotropy of magnetic susceptibility.&nbsp; In this paper, we present geometrical evidence for the lateral emplacement of segmented dykes restricted to a narrow depth range in the crust.&nbsp; Near-total exposure of three dykes on wave cut platforms around Birsay (Orkney, UK) are used to map out floor and roof contacts of neighbouring dyke segments in relay zones.&nbsp; The field evidence suggests emplacement from the WSW towards the ENE, and that the dykes are segmented over their entire vertical extent.&nbsp; Geometrical evidence for the lateral emplacement of segmented dykes is likely more robust than inferences drawn from flow-related fabrics, due to the prevalence of ubiquitous ‘drainback’ events (i.e. magmatic flow reversals) observed in modern systems.</p> 2018-08-22T00:00:00+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://www.jvolcanica.org/ojs/index.php/volcanica/article/view/4 Trashcano: Developing a quantitative teaching tool to understand ballistics accelerated by explosive volcanic eruptions 2018-09-19T17:18:55+00:00 Fabian Ben Wadsworth fabian.wadsworth@gmail.com Holly E Unwin holly.unwin@fake.com Jérémie Vasseur jeremie.vasseur@min.uni-muenchen.de Ben M Kennedy ben.kennedy@canterbury.ac.nz Julia Holzmueller julia.holzmueller@fake.com Bettina Scheu scheu@lmu.de Taylor Witcher taylor.witcher@gmail.com Janina Adolf janina.adolf@gmx.de Francisco Cáceres francisco.caceres@fake.de Ana S Casas ana.casas@lmu.de Valeria Cigala valeria.cigala@min.uni-muenchen.de Alexandra Clement alex_clement89@yahoo.co.uk Mathieu Colombier mathieu.colombier@min.uni-muenchen.de Shane Cronin shane.cronin@auckland.co.nz Marcel Cronin marcel.cronin@yahoo.com Donald B Dingwell dingwell@lmu.de Leticia F Guimarães l.guimares@min.uni-muenchen.de Laura Höltgen laura.hoeltgen@gmz.de Ulrich Kueppers u.kueppers@lmu.de Gilles Seropian gilles.seropian@canterbury.ac.nz Sönke Stern stern@lmu.de Adrien Teissier teissier@canterbury.ac.nz Caron Vossen c.vossen@min.uni-muenchen.de Natalie Weichselgartner N.Weichselgartner@lmu.de <div>Accurate predictions of volcanological phenomena, such as the trajectory of blocks accelerated by volcanic explosions, require quantitative skills training. Large outdoor experiments can be useful to convey concepts of volcanic&nbsp;processes to students in an exciting way. Beyond the fun aspects, these experiments provide an opportunity to&nbsp;engage with the physics of projectile flight and help promote mathematical learning within the Earth Sciences.&nbsp;We present a quantitative framework required to interpret ballistic trajectories and the outdoor experiment known&nbsp;commonly as “trashcano”, taking a step-by-step approach to the physics of this problem, and deriving a range&nbsp;of mathematical solutions involving different levels of complexity. Our solutions are consistent with the predictions from established computer programs for volcanic ballistic trajectory modelling, but we additionally provide&nbsp;a nested set of simplified solutions, useful for a range of teaching scenarios as well as downloadable simulated&nbsp;datasets for use where the full experiment may not be possible.</div> 2018-09-18T14:35:11+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##